top of page
Search
  • monmouthwritersgro

Brighter days ahead . . . .


When Wales went into its first lockdown in March 2020, it felt as if the world was holding its breath in anxious anticipation of what was to come. At times, it was as if the world had stood still, but inevitably life carried on regardless, although for many in a very different way.


My daughter and I, working for the same company, took over the dining room table every morning with our laptops and found comfort in having each other to moan to when the technology failed.


As an income officer for a housing association, I'm used to dealing with day to day queries whilst dealing with the pressures of year-end tasks, but last year was like no other. People were losing their jobs or suddenly finding themselves on furlough and unable to manage their bills. Many found themselves trying to navigate a complex benefits system for the first time, and some just needed to hear a friendly voice on the other end of the phone. Listening to their stories, especially those who had lost a loved one, or in one instance, a nurse that just broke down at the end of her tether, was often heart-wrenching. Being able to provide advice and support to those in need at least kept my own worries at bay.


As things calmed down and people stopped panic-buying toilet rolls, I became accustomed to my new life; only seeing my parents through the windowpane when I dropped off their weekly shop and religiously disinfecting everything. Then my daughter announced she was buying a house. Because it was vacant, she and her boyfriend were able to go ahead with the move, despite the strict lockdown measures at the time. So, I found myself stocking up on toilet rolls and things just like everyone else, knowing she would want to disinfect every inch of her new kitchen and bathroom.


After some glorious sunny days spent in the garden, making bunting for VE Day and trying out some watercolour paints my daughter had bought for my birthday, she moved out, leaving an empty room and an empty heart. Never underestimate 'empty nest syndrome!' You say you can't wait for the peace and quiet and then it hits you like a brick wall.


Thankfully, the sunny skies remained so I overhauled my back garden as my son instantly moved into his sister's old bedroom, stripping the wallpaper as he went and then persuaded me to finish off the decorating as usual.


By September things were returning to normal and by November I was ready for a new challenge, so I signed up to NaNoWriMo and wrote the draft of my second novel in 30 days! Quite an achievement, considering my first novel, although twice as long, took me years to complete.


Whilst in the midst of that challenge I was up to another and decided to apply for a different job within the same company. I received the news that I'd been successful before November was out and was soon joining many others trying to learn a new job role virtually.


Christmas soon arrived and I was glad that we were able to enjoy the day as a family, conscious that many didn't have that privilege. We even played a game a Cluedo together, but it was not until some time had passed that we began to realise the murderer's card was missing and our countless deductions as to 'who done it' were in vain.


New Year quickly followed and we raised a glass to the passing year with a more vigorous 'good riddance' than usual. Returning to work after the yuletide break was a more enticing prospect than usual with new tasks and challenges to occupy my day, although I quickly wondered if I had bitten off more than I could chew. Determined to overcome the obstacles I quickly learnt where to find the information I needed and who I needed to talk to, to resolve queries that were coming in faster than I could resolve them and eventually organised myself and everything else into something more manageable.


Time flew by and Spring arrived. As the daffodils bloomed and the hope of vaccination appointments arrived, the future of the family farm diminished. Having spent my childhood within its beautiful scenery and woodlands, the inspiration for my writing over the years, it's a daunting prospect to possibly lose it. A complex situation that I won't go into, but I'm hoping that things will work themselves out.


That's why I wanted to write this. To show me, if no one else, that whatever happens, life carries on regardless and that's what we, ourselves, must do. There are ups and downs even during a global pandemic and we should treasure each and every moment, for these are what make our own stories. Take comfort that every storm eventually will pass and look forward to the sunshine and brighter days ahead.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page